About

Hello!

Welcome to Frugal Turtle!  I’m a 30 something woman on her way to financial independence.  I started this blog as a way to track my journey.  I didn’t start seriously saving money until 2014, but since then I have been on a roll!  I do hope to retire before the traditional retirement age, so I’m socking away a larger than normal percentage of my income into investments.  I make less than $50,000 a year, so this might be a long journey!  However, I have determination and low expenses on my side, so I’m betting I get there.

I live in the great state of Minnesota with my boyfriend (Mr. Frugal Turtle) and our cat.  Mr. Frugal Turtle is naturally frugal, and even though he is five years younger than me, he has a higher net worth (although I’m catching up quickly).  It’s great to have a partner that is on my side as far as finances go.  Since we are not yet married, we do keep our finances separate.  As such, this blog is only my side of the journey.  My desire for early retirement is much stronger than Mr. Frugal Turtle’s.  He only contributes 30% to his 401K. The horror!    Mr. Frugal Turtle wants to retire as much as I do and has his 401k set up to max out this year!

My goal is to retire in 10-15 years.  After I retire I would love to travel more.  I’ve always wanted to take a road trip around the U.S.

During my spare time I enjoy cooking, movies, binge watching Netflix, camping and hiking.

Oh, and I love pineapples.  It started with this show.

Thank you for checking out my little corner of the internet and I hope you stick around!

Sincerely,

Frugal Turtle